Shreveport animator invited to join the Academy

by Morgan Charlesworth on July 3, 2012

The Academy has invited 176 new members to join the elite group. The easiest way to be invited to join the Academy is to win an Oscar but if someone is nominated at the awards they are also likely to join the ranks of their peers. Among those to join this year, 47 of them were either nominated or won an Oscar at the 84th Academy Awards. Eight of the newest inductees are Berenice Bejo, Demian Bichir, Jessica Chastain, Jonah Hill, Melissa McCarthy, Janet McTeer and Oscar winners Jean Dujardin (Best Actor РThe Artist) and Octavia Spencer (Best Supporting Actress РThe Help).

William Joyce, a Shreveport born and raised filmmaker, was also invited to join the Academy’s roster after winning the award for best animated short this year for The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore.

Congratulations to all of the newest members of the Academy!

Source: Deadline